Jesus Is… Grace

6c1

Jesus is Grace.

Duh, you might say, if you have been a Christian for a while.  That is essentially the foundation of Christianity.

Well, I have grown up in the church, never stopped believin’, and yet, the true impact of Grace on my life has only slowly been revealed to me in this past year.

First, I went on a summer mission where I camp-counseled inner-city kids.  Talk about needing Grace. More like GRACE.  Jesus taught me so much during this time, constantly showing me my own weaknesses and need for Him in order to do His Work on earth.

Next, this book I’m currently reading- Jesus Is ____ by Judah Smith.  You probably have heard of it before.  I’ll do a book review later, but this part really impacted me

Once again, is sin a big deal? Considering all of the above, I have to say not anymore.  The problem has been solved. The solution has been provided.  The answer has been found. his name is Jesus, and his essence is grace.

The point isn’t to quit thinking about sin.  It’s to quit thinking about self and to think about Jesus.  It’s to become God-conscious, not me-conscious.

To give some context, Judah Smith is talking about how we can focus so much on our shortcomings and our failure to live a sinless life that we get so hung-up on ourselves and forget the most important part- JESUS HAS SAVED US FROM OUR SINS. There is no need to ashamed or guilty.  Of course, we can’t live in sin without being repentant, but when we focus on the SIN and not the FORGIVENESS it detracts from the amazing GRACE God has extended to us by sending His Son Jesus to die on the cross for our sins.

Lately, I have been so caught up in trying to improve myself and show God how much I’ve grown as a Christian, how much I deserve bigger blessing that I forgot (or maybe never even realized) I will never deserve or earn anything, no matter what I do. The Bible says good works are as “filthy rags” to God (Isaiah 64:6). Bless. I only get it now.

This revelation has rocked my world and I’m definitely changing the way I view myself, my sin, and God.  I pray that I will continue to focus more on God’s Grace than my sin, so that I may never view the darkness as a stronger force than Light.

This entry was published on August 10, 2015 at 8:40 am. It’s filed under Reflection and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

